

Municipal Clerk Corporate Services Tel: 905-478-3821 Fax: 905-478-2808 flamanna@eastgwillimbury.ca

January 21, 2016

Chris Ballard, MPP Constituency Office Suite 203 238 Wellington Street East Aurora, Ontario L4G 1J5

RE: ELECTION OF CHAIR OF YORK REGION (13.4)

Dear Chris Ballard:

For your information and records, at its regular meeting held on Tuesday, January 19, 2016 the Council of the Town of East Gwillimbury enacted as follows:

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the correspondence from K. Kitteringham, City Clerk, City of Markham, dated November 12, 2015, regarding the election of the Chair of York Region, be received; and

THAT Council will support the following resolution:

WHEREAS the Chair of the Region of York is one of the most powerful politicians in the Province of Ontario; and,

WHEREAS the Chair position directly impacts residents of York Region whether it be through Policing, Regional Planning, Roads, Public Housing, Public Transportation, Water and Sewer Services, Emergency Services or any other Regional services; and,

WHEREAS the current process whereby the Region of York Council appoints their own Chair deprives York Region residents of the opportunity to choose from the platform and/or agenda of the individual(s) running for the Chair's position; and,

WHEREAS the Town of East Gwillimbury is committed to accountability and transparency and believes that the Regional Chair should be directly accountable to the residents of York Region through the democratic process;

THAT the Town of East Gwillimbury encourage the Province of Ontario to pass enabling legislation to provide for the election of the Chair of York Region by general vote beginning with the 2018 Municipal Election; and further,

THAT a copy of this resolution be sent to the Honourable Kathleen Wynne, Premier Honourable Ted McMeekin, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Patrick Brown, leader of the Official Opposition, Andrea Horwath, Leader of the NDP, all York Region MPPs and every municipality within York Region.

If you have any further questions feel free to contact the undersigned.

Yours truly,

Fernando Lamanna, B.A., Dipl. M. M., CMO

Municipal Clerk

Copy to: Ms. Andrea Horwath, Leader of the NDP

All York Region Municipalities

The Honourable Kathleen Wynne, Premier of Ontario

The Honourable Ted McMeekin, Minister of Municipal Affairs & Housing

Mr. Patrick Brown, Leader of the Official Opposition