

April 20, 2018

Honourable Chris Ballard
Minister of the Environment and Climate Change
Ferguson Block 11th Floor
77 Wellesley Street
Toronto ON M7A 2T5

APR 24 2018

Re: Cladophora Growth - Whitby Waterfront

Please be advised that at a meeting held on April 16, 2018 the Council of the Town of Whitby adopted the following as Resolution #124-18:

Whereas nuisance growth of cladophora along the nearshore destroys fish habitat and deprives residents and visitors of the use and enjoyment of the waterfront and beaches;

And whereas the Regions of Durham and York have commissioned an Environmental Assessment to address the outfall capacity limitations of the Duffin Creek WPCP;

And whereas the waterfront of Whitby is an invaluable asset and assuring its cleanliness is essential to the well-being of our residents and future prosperity of our Town;

And whereas the waterfront of Whitby deserves respect, regard and protection consistent with the latest and ongoing provincial, federal and international research and strategies to investigate and reduce algae blooms in Lake Erie and Lake Ontario.

Now Therefore be it Resolved:

- That the Minister of Environment and Climate Change be advised of the strong concern of the Council of the Town of Whitby has about the negative social, recreational and economic impacts that would result from nuisance Cladophora on its waterfront:
- That the Minister of Environment and Climate Change be requested to adopt a science-based approach to this matter ensuring that nutrients from all sources impacting the water quality of Lake Ontario are reduced in an appropriate and sustainable manner; and,

 That the Clerk forward a copy of this resolution to the Minister of Environment and Climate Change, Durham Area Municipalities, the Regional Municipalities of Durham and York, and the Members of Provincial Parliament representing Durham and York Regions.

Should you require further information, please do not hesitate to contact the Office of the Town Clerk at 905-430-4315.

Christopher Harris Town Clerk

Copy: Julia Munro, M.P.P., York-Simcoe

Helena Jaczek, M.P.P., Oak Ridges-Markham

Reza Moridi, M.P.P., Richmond Hill

Steven Del Duca, M.P.P., Vaughan

Lorne Coe, M.P.P., Whitby-Oshawa

Tracy MacCharles, M.P.P., Pickering-Scarborough East

Jennifer French, M.P.P, Oshawa

Joe Dickson, M.P.P., Ajax-Pickering

Granville Anderson, M.P.P., Durham

Laurie Scott, M.P.P., Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock

Chris Raynor, Regional Clerk, Regional Municipality of York

Ralph Walton, Regional Clerk, Region of Durham

Nicole Cooper, Town Clerk, Town of Ajax

Thom Gettinby, Chief Administrative Officer/Clerk, Township of Brock

Anne Greentree, Municipal Clerk, Municipality of Clarington

Andrew Brouwer, City Clerk, City of Oshawa

Debbie Shields, City Clerk, City of Pickering

John Paul Newman, Municipal Clerk, Township of Scugog

Debbie Leroux, Clerk, Township of Uxbridge