

Region of Peel Working for you

February 9, 2017

Honourable Kathleen Wynne Premier of Ontario Legislative Building Queen's Park Toronto, Ontario M7A 1A1

RE: Election of the Chair of The Regional Municipality of Peel

Dear Premier:

We are writing to advise you that on Thursday, January 26, 2017, Peel Regional Council passed a motion to request the repeal of Bill 70 Schedule 15, which amends the Municipal Act, 2001 to communicate the head of Council must be elected commencing with the 2018 Municipal Election.

The amendment to the Act states, "On the day the new council of a regional municipality is organized following the regular election in 2018, the head of council of a regional municipality shall be elected by general vote in accordance with the *Municipal Elections Act, 1996.*"

Upon further discussion at the last Regional Council meeting, held on January 26, 2017, Peel Council voted 22 in favour and 1 opposed to ask the Province to take immediate action on this matter and repeal the sections of the recently passed legislation relating to the election at large of the Regional Chair for Peel.

The right to self-determination is a fundamental tenet of democracy, and the collective will of Peel Regional Council is that you respect this fact and afford us this right as democratically elected officials. This perspective has been long held by Peel Regional Council and recently validated by the governing process undertaken last year. Therefore, Members of Regional Council respectfully request the repeal of the Province's decision to make the position of Regional Chair one elected by the citizens of the region, rather than one that is appointed by Council.

Your swift attention to this matter is appreciated.

Best regards,

Region of Peel Council

The Regional Municipality of Peel

10 Peel Centre Dr., Suite A, Brampton, ON L6T 4B9 Tel: 905-791-7800 Web: peelregion.ca

Signatures of Peel Regional Council Members:

Councillor G/Carlson City of Mississauga, Ward 11

Mayor B. Crombie City of Mississauga

Councillor J. Downey

Town of Caledon, Ward 2

16

Councillor C. Fonseca City of Mississauga, Ward 3

). Och

Councillor G. Gibson City of Brampton, Wards 1 & 5

Councillor A. Groves Town of Caledon, Ward 5

Councillor N. lannicca City of Mississauga, Ward 7

Councillor J. Innis Town of Caledon, Wards 3 & 4

The Regional Municipality of Peel

10 Peel Centre Dr., Suite A, Brampton, ON L6T 4B9 Tel: 905-791-7800 Web: peelregion.ca

Town of Caledon, Wards 3 & 4

Councillor J. Kovac City of Mississauga, Ward 4

Councillor M. Mahoney City of Mississauga, Ward 8

ldon

Councillor S. McFadden City of Mississauga, Ward 10

Councillor M. Medeiros City of Brampton, Wards 3 & 4

Councillor G. Miles City of Brampton, Wards 7 & 8

Councillor E. Moore City of Brampton, Wards 1 & 5

Councillor M. Palleschi City of Brampton, Wards 2 & 6

Councillor C. Parrish City of Mississauga, Ward 5

Councillor K. Ras

City of Mississauga, Ward 2

lato

Councillor P. Saito City of Mississauga, Ward 9

N. Councillor B. Shaughnessy Town of Caledon, Ward

Sprovieri

City of Mississauga, Wards 9 & 10

Councillor R. Starr City of Mississauga, Ward 6

Mayor A. Thompson Town of Caledon

of Mississauga, Ward

cc: Honourable Bill Mauro, Minister of Municipal Affairs Dipika Damerla, MPP, Mississauga East - Cooksville Bob Delaney, MPP, Mississauga - Streetsville Vic Dhillion, MPP, Brampton West Sylvia Jones, MPP, Dufferin-Caledon Harinder Malhi, MPP, Brampton - Springdale Amrit Mangat, MPP, Mississauga - Brampton South Jagmeet Singh, MPP, Bramelea-Gore-Malton Charles Sousa, MPP, Mississauga South Harinder S. Takhar, MPP, Mississauga - Erindale Debi Wilcox, Regional Clerk, Durham Region Graham Milne, Deputy Clerk, Halton Region Ralph Walton, Regional Clerk, Niagara Region Kris (Kristine) Fletcher, Regional Clerk, Waterloo Region Dennis Kelly, Regional Clerk, York Region Peter Fay, City Clerk, City of Brampton Crystal Greer, City Clerk, City of Mississauga Carey deGorter, City Clerk, Town of Caledon

The Regional Municipality of Peel

10 Peel Centre Dr., Suite A, Brampton, ON L6T 4B9 Tel: 905-791-7800 Web: peelregion.ca



Moved By:	Date:
Councillor Crombie	January 26, 2017
Seconded By:	Item Number
Councillor Saito	12.1

Whereas Bill 70 Schedule 15, requires general election of the Regional Chair commencing with the 2018 Municipal Election;

And whereas, Bill 70 Schedule 15, was introduced on First Reading on November 16, 2016, and received Royal Assent and came into force on December 8, 2016 without adequate consultation of the interests of the Region and its area municipalities, or adequate consideration of their stated preferences that the Regional Chair continue to be appointed by Regional Council;

Therefore be it resolved, that a letter protesting the enactment of the requirement and requesting its repeal be circulated by the Regional Clerk for signature by Members of Council and sent to the Premier of Ontario;

And further, that a copy of the letter be sent to the Minister of Municipal Affairs, Peel-area MPPs, the Clerks of other Regional Municipalities affected by the requirement and the local municipalities within the Region of Peel.

CARRIED | $\sqrt{}$ LOST | REFERRED |