

REGION OF TORK

FILE No. -

PHLA

January 31, 2014

The Honourable Prime Minister Stephen Harper House of Commons Parliament Buildings Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6



RE:

FEDERAL GOVERNMENT SUPPORT OF THE YONGE STREET NORTH SUBWAY EXTENSION (5.0)

Dear Mr. Harper:

This will confirm that at a meeting held on January 28, 2014, Council of the City of Markham adopted the following resolution:

"Whereas Metrolinx has identified the Yonge Subway Extension (Finch Avenue to Hwy. 7) as a "priority" project in their Big Move update; and,

Whereas Markham Council has endorsed the Yonge Subway Extension; and,

Whereas VIVA and TTC has completed the Environmental Study and conceptual design for the Yonge subway; and,

Whereas funding is required (±\$100 million) for VIVA/TTC to proceed with preliminary design; and,

Whereas the Region of York, City of Markham, City of Vaughan, Town of Richmond Hill and City of Toronto require the subway extension to accommodate existing and future transit needs; and,

Whereas the Provincial Government has completed its Investment Strategy for the Big Move Transit Plan; and,

Whereas the Government of Canada has committed to development a "Building Canada Fund" for Infrastructure Funding;

....2/

## Now therefore be it resolved;

- 1) That the correspondence dated December 16, 2013 from Jeffrey A. Abrams, City Clerk, City of Vaughan regarding the "Federal Government Support of the Yonge Street North Subway Extension" be received; and,
- 2) That the Federal and Provincial Governments be requested to provide funding in 2014 for the preliminary design of the Yonge Subway Extension to proceed; and further,
- That the Prime Minister of Canada and federal Ministers of Finance,
  Transportation and Infrastructure, Communities and Intergovernmental Affairs,
  along with the Premier of Ontario and provincial Ministers of Finance and
  Infrastructure and Transportation, along with the local MP/MPPs, and York
  Region, City of Vaughan, Town of Richmond Hill, City of Toronto and Metrolinx
  be advised accordingly."

Yours sincerely,

Kimberley Kitteringham

City Clerk

Copy to:

The Honourable Jim Flaherty. Minister of Finance

The Honourable Denis Lebel, Minister of Transport, Infrastructure,

Communities and Intergovernmental Affairs

The Honourable Kathleen Wynne. Premier of Ontario

The Honourable Charles Sousa, Minister of Finance

The Honourable Glen R. Murray, Minister of Infrastructure and Transportation

Local MP's/MPP's

Denis Kelly, Regional Clerk, Regional Municipality of York

Jeff Abrams, City Clerk, City of Vaughan

Donna McLarty, Town Clerk, Town of Richmond Hill

Ulli S. Watkiss, City Clerk, City of Toronto

Bruce McCuaig, CEO/President, Metrolinx