The Regional Municipality Of York


COVID-19 enforcement continues with 2,287 inspections and 50 charges between Monday, December 14 and Sunday, December 20, 2020

Newmarket – At the direction of York Regional Council, the York Region COVID-19 enforcement task force continues to inspect businesses across the Region to ensure compliance with current public health restrictions and measures.

Between Monday, December 14, 2020 and Sunday, December 20, 2020, members of the task force visited 2,287 businesses across York Region.

Inspections carried out indicate most businesses and customers in York Region are adhering to COVID-19 safety measures and protocols. However, there were 50 charges laid against residents and businesses and 745 compliance education activities completed.

The following provides a summary of the 50 charges issued under the provincial Reopening Ontario Act and Section 22 of the Health Protection and Promotion Act:

  • 11 charges issued by York Region Public Health
  • 1 charge issued by York Regional Police
  • 8 charges issued by York Region Transit
  • 2 charges issued by the Town of Aurora
  • 1 charge issued by the Township of King
  • 12 charges issued by the City of Markham
  • 13 charges issued by the City of Vaughan
  • 2 charges issued by the Town of Whitchurch-Stouffville

Since March 2020, Public Health Inspectors, municipal bylaw officers and other enforcement agencies have completed 28,184 inspections, resulting in 697 charges and 15,956 compliance education activities.

In the coming weeks, officers from the COVID-19 task force will continue to visit essential businesses and various other locations to ensure public health measures under the province-wide shutdown and York Region’s Section 22 Class Order are being met.

A complete list of charges and closures is available on

Businesses failing to keep their customers and employees safe by not adhering to the mandated COVID-19 safety measures will be subject to fines. Repeat offenders could face temporary closure.

Task force members are composed of representatives of Bylaw officers from all nine municipalities in the Region, York Region Public Health Inspectors, York Regional Police, Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario (AGCO) and Provincial Offense Act court prosecutions.

Guidance and resources to help essential businesses operate more safely during COVID-19 are available at and

The Regional Municipality of York consists of nine local cities and towns and provides a variety of programs and services to 1.2 million residents and 54,000 businesses with 650,000 employees. More information about the Region’s key service areas is available at

- 30 -

Media Contact:
Kylie-Anne Doerner, Corporate Communications
The Regional Municipality of York

COVID 19; enforcement; York Region The Regional Municipality of York en-US Media Release