The Regional Municipality Of York

ALERT: In response to the COVID-19 situation, York Region has declared a State of Emergency  |  Get the latest on our response to COVID-19  |  Information on re-opening and resuming business during COVID-19


Elgin Mills Community Environmental Centre closed due to wet weather conditions

Newmarket – Due to excessive wet weather conditions, the Elgin Mills Community Environmental Centre (CEC) is closed and will remain closed throughout the weekend.

Residents and contractors can drop off items for recycling or disposal this weekend at:

McCleary Court CEC
130 McCleary Court                     
City of Vaughan
Saturday and Sunday: 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Georgina Transfer Station
23068 Warden Avenue               
Town of Georgina
Saturday only: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Elgin Mills CEC is anticipated to reopen Monday morning.

For more information on York Region’s waste depots, please visit

The Regional Municipality of York consists of nine local cities and towns, and provides a variety of programs and services to almost 1.2 million residents, 50,000 businesses and 595,000 employees. More information about the Region’s key service areas is available at


Media Contact:
Barbara Schnier, Corporate Communications,
The Regional Municipality of York
Phone: 1-877-464-9675, ext. 71237, Cell: 905-505-5775

Elgin Mills Community Centre; Richmond Hill; York Region The Regional Municipality of York en-US Media Release