The Regional Municipality Of York


Newsroom Sub Navigation


Former Town of Whitchurch-Stouffville Mayor Wayne Emmerson elected York Region Chairman and CEO

NEWMARKET – Wayne Emmerson has been elected York Region Chairman and CEO tonight at the Inaugural meeting of York Regional Council meeting for the December 2014 to December 2018 term of office.

In a public vote of 16 to 4, members of York Regional Council elected Chairman Emmerson. The other candidate nominated for this position was Town of Newmarket Regional Councillor John Taylor.

Chairman Emmerson’s nomination was brought forward by Town of Richmond Hill Mayor Dave Barrow and seconded by Town of Georgina Regional Councillor Danny Wheeler.

“Following in the footsteps of some great York Region Chairs including Bill Fisch and Eldred King, it is an honour to be here tonight,” said Chairman and CEO Wayne Emmerson. “I pledge my commitment and dedication to you and all York Region residents for the next four years.”

In a standing room only Council Chamber, Chairman Emmerson specifically acknowledged the members of the 2014 to 2018 term.

“This is a very prestigious position and one that I will not take for granted,” he said. “I am committed to working with each and every one of you to continue advancing the great foundation of work that makes York Region the amazing place it is.”

Newly elected Chairman Emmerson replaces Bill Fisch, who stepped down as York Region Chairman at the end of the 2010 to 2014 term after 17 years. Tonight marks the first time since 1997 an election for the position of York Region Chairman and CEO has taken place, following four successful acclamations for Chairman Fisch.

A biography on Chairman Emmerson and the complete list of York Regional Council for the 2014 to 2018 term is attached in the following media backgrounders.

The Regional Municipality of York is an upper tier municipality that consists of nine municipalities. With a population of more than 1.1 million people the Region remains one of the fastest growing municipalities in Canada. In 2014, the Region’s budget was $3 billion, the fourth largest municipal budget in the Province of Ontario.

In York Region, members of York Regional Council are elected in what is known as a “double direct” form of election. In this type of system, those elected as Mayor or Regional Council for an area municipality earn a seat on both Local and Regional Council for four years.

The first regular business meeting of York Region Council members for the 2014 to 2018 term will take place on Thursday, December 18 at 9:30 a.m. in Council Chambers of the York Region Administrative Centre.

For more information on York Regional Council, please visit

- 30 -

Media Contact:    Patrick Casey, Corporate Communications, The Regional Municipality of York

                              Phone:  905-830-4444 ext. 71235 or Cell: 905-715-8211


council,Wayne Emmerson,CEO,election,chair The Regional Municipality of York en-US Media Release

News and Social Media