The Regional Municipality Of York

ALERT: In response to the COVID-19 situation, York Region has declared a State of Emergency  |  Get the latest on our response to COVID-19  |  Information on re-opening and resuming business during COVID-19


Georgina Transfer Station will be temporarily closed for maintenance

Waste and recycling depot will be closed September 9 to 22

Newmarket – The Georgina Waste Transfer Station will be closed from Monday, September 9 to Sunday, September 22 for repair and maintenance. Regular depot hours will resume Monday, September 23.

The Georgina Transfer Station is located at 23068 Warden Avenue in the Town of Georgina. Residents are asked to visit for a list of other locations and options during the temporary closure.

York Region provides several public drop-off depots where residents can bring recycling, garbage, hazardous waste, household items, yard waste, electronics and other items for recycling and disposal. Each depot accepts a variety of items; please review the list of accepted items before visiting.

To find out how to properly dispose of an item, use York Region’s Bindicator, a helpful online search tool.

The Regional Municipality of York consists of nine local cities and towns and provides a variety of programs and services to 1.2 million residents and 52,000 businesses with over 636,600 employees. More information about the Region’s key service areas is available at


Media Contact:

Masrine Guthrie-Peart, Corporate Communications, The Regional Municipality of York
Phone: 1-877-464-9675, ext. 77272, Cell: 905-251-6416

York Region; Georgina Waste Transfer Station; Waste Transfer Station The Regional Municipality of York en-US Media Release