The Regional Municipality Of York

ALERT: In response to the COVID-19 situation, York Region has declared a State of Emergency  |  Get the latest on our response to COVID-19  |  Information on re-opening and resuming business during COVID-19


Laura Mirabella named York Region’s new Commissioner of Finance and Regional Treasurer

Newmarket – The Regional Municipality of York today announced the appointment of Laura Mirabella as its new Commissioner of Finance and Regional Treasurer, effective June 20, 2018

Laura Mirabella“York Region has a strong history of financial responsibility and sustainability,” said York Region Chairman and CEO Wayne Emmerson. “With a Council-approved multi-year fiscal strategy, we continue to be successful in reducing debt, saving for the future and managing our capital plan. We look forward to Ms. Mirabella’s insight and advice.”

Ms. Mirabella has more than 25 years of municipal, provincial and private-sector experience. She joins York Region from the City of Vaughan where she most recently held the position of Chief Financial Officer and City Treasurer.

Her extensive experience includes 11 years in areas of increasing responsibility in the Ontario Public Service including the Ministries of Finance and Infrastructure.

“York Region’s Commissioner of Finance and Regional Treasurer has executive responsibility for many of the areas typically expected including budget, controllership and treasury,” said York Region Chief Administrative Officer Bruce Macgregor. “In addition, this role is responsible for procurement and information technology. It’s vital the successful candidate brings a solid understanding of financial best practices and experience in providing direction to a large and complex portfolio. Laura does just that.”

Ms. Mirabella holds a Chartered Professional Accounting designation from Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario.

She volunteers her time to a number of local community agencies including co-chairing the 2017 City of Vaughan United Way staff fundraising campaign.

Ms. Mirabella assumes her role following the announcement of Bill Hughes’ retirement.

The Regional Municipality of York consists of nine local cities and towns, and provides a variety of programs and services to 1.2 million residents and 51,000 businesses with 620,000 employees. More information about the Region’s key service areas is available at

- 30 -
Media Contact:   
Jennifer Mitchell, Corporate Communications, The Regional Municipality of York
Phone:  1-877-464-9675  ext. 71236 or Cell: 905-955-2533

York Region; Commissioner of Finance; Commissioner of Finance and Regional Treasurer; Laura Mirabella The Regional Municipality of York en-US Media Release