The Regional Municipality Of York


More affordable housing coming to the Town of Georgina

Newmarket – York Regional Council has approved the addition of four modular affordable housing units in the Town of Georgina.

Located at Housing York Inc.’s Sutton Youth Shelter at 20898 Dalton Road, when complete these homes will provide new transitional housing units for individuals and families at risk of or currently experiencing homelessness.

“The need and demand for affordable housing remains high across the Region,” said York Region Chairman and CEO Wayne Emmerson. “Finding solutions to address affordable housing challenges remains a key priority for York Regional Council and involves all levels of government and community partners working together. We appreciate the provincial government’s $1 million investment to help support this important initiative.”

Modular housing includes prefabricated, factory-built homes transported and assembled on a permanent foundation. Modular homes can be constructed and installed quickly compared to traditionally built housing.

“Modular housing is an efficient and cost-effective solution and provides the Region with more options for rapid re-housing,” said City of Vaughan Regional Councillor Gino Rosati, Chair of Community and Health Services. “These homes will provide additional affordable transitional housing options to serve some of the Region’s most vulnerable residents.”

Construction of these units are funded by the Ontario Government’s Social Services Relief Fund (SSRF) Phase Two allocation. As one of the Emergency Housing providers for York Region, The Salvation Army will operate these four units.

At the end of 2019, there were over 17,400 households on the York Region wait list, with less than 300 new households being housed each year. This project provides the opportunity to expedite delivery of housing initiatives for the Region.

Housing York Inc. is York Region’s affordable housing company, with 2,762 apartments and townhouses in over 36 developments located across all nine of the Region’s cities and towns. These communities are home to more than 4,000 residents.

The Regional Municipality of York consists of nine local cities and towns and provides a variety of programs and services to 1.2 million residents and 54,000 businesses with over 650,000 employees. More information about the Region’s key service areas is available at

- 30 -

Media Contact:

Ben Mulholland, Corporate Communications, The Regional Municipality of York
Phone: 1-877-464-9675 ext. 76664 or Cell: 289-716-9605

Town of Georgina; affordable housing The Regional Municipality of York en-US Media Release