The Regional Municipality Of York

ALERT: In response to the COVID-19 situation, York Region has declared a State of Emergency  |  Get the latest on our response to COVID-19  |  Information on re-opening and resuming business during COVID-19


New term of Human Services Planning Board (HSPB) appointed by Regional Council

Newmarket– York Regional Council has appointed 23 professional and community leaders to the 2019 to 2022 term of the Human Services Planning Board of York Region (HSPB). The new board will carry forward the HSPB mandate to provide Regional Council and staff with strategic advice on human services matters.

“Since 2011, members of the Human Services Planning Board have been coming together enhance the effectiveness and efficiency of human services across the York Region,” said York Region Chairman and CEO Wayne Emmerson “By having a common focus and commitment, we are finding innovative solutions to meet the growing needs of our diverse communities.”

The Human Services Planning Board is a multi-sector collaborative that provides strategic advice to Regional Council on human service matters and initiatives in York Region. It will also act as the Advisory Committee to Council in preparation of the provincially mandated Community Safety and Well-being Plan.

Appointed for a four-year term, the members of the 2019-2022 Human Services Planning Board are:

Regional Government Sector

Wayne Emmerson, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, The Regional Municipality of York (Ex-officio)
John Taylor, Mayor, Town of Newmarket
Mario Ferri, Regional Councillor, City of Vaughan
Jack Heath, Regional Councillor, City of Markham 

Education Sector

Mary Battista, Superintendent of Education: School Leadership, York Catholic District School Board
Cecil Roach, Coordinating Superintendent of Education, Indigenous Education and Equity, York Region District School Board
Dr. Rhonda L. Lenton, President and Vice-Chancellor, York University

Healthcare Sector 

David Stolte, Vice President, Strategy and Redevelopment, Mackenzie Health
Rebecca Shields, CEO, Co-Chair, Canadian Mental Health Association
Kim Baker, CEO, Central Local Health Integration Network

Community Safety Sector

Eric Jolliffe, Chief, York Regional Police
Chunilall (Robin) Doobay, York Regional Police Services Board

Seniors/Healthy Aging Sector 

Christina Bisanz, CEO, Community & Home Assistance to Seniors

Non-Profit Community Organizations Investment Sector

Nation Cheong, Senior Vice President, Community Opportunities and Mobilization, United Way Greater Toronto (effective September 11, 2019)
Michael Braithwaite, CEO, Blue Door Shelters

Children, Youth and Family Services Sector

Clovis Grant, CEO, 360°kids
Dean Rokos, Executive Director, York Hills Centre for Children, Youth and Families

Training-Education/Labour Marker/Business Community Sector 

Darryl Gray, Director of Education and Training, Toronto and Region Conservation Authority
Tracy Macgregor Walter, President and CEO, Newmarket Chamber of Commerce, Chamber of Commerce representative
Al Wilson, Executive Director, Workforce Planning Board of York Region

Community and Social Support Based-Services Sector 

Christin Cullen, Executive Director, John Howard Society of York Region
Medhat Mahdy, President and CEO, YMCA of Greater Toronto
Liora Sobel, Executive Director, Women’s Centre of York Region
Colleen Zakoor, Executive Director, Community Living Central York

The Regional Municipality of York consists of nine local cities and towns and provides a variety of programs and services to 1.2 million residents and 51,000 businesses with 620,000 employees. More information about the Region’s key service areas is available at; 

Human Services Planning; York Region The Regional Municipality of York en-US Media Release