The Regional Municipality Of York

ALERT: In response to the COVID-19 situation, York Region has declared a State of Emergency  |  Get the latest on our response to COVID-19  |  Information on re-opening and resuming business during COVID-19


Wayne Emmerson re-elected for second term as Chairman and CEO for The Regional Municipality of York

Newmarket – Wayne Emmerson has been re-elected tonight as Chairman and CEO for The Regional Municipality of York at the Inaugural meeting of York Regional Council for the December 2018 through to November 2022 term of office.

In a unanimous public vote, members of York Regional Council elected Chairman Emmerson. No other names were put forward for nomination.

Chairman Emmerson’s nomination was brought forward by Town of Richmond Hill Mayor Dave Barrow and seconded by Town of East Gwillimbury Mayor Virginia Hackson.

“It is an honour to be re-elected to a second term and thank you for entrusting me with this responsibility,” said Chairman and CEO Wayne Emmerson. “I am committed to working with each and every one of you to continue making our communities strong, safe and caring places to live, work, play and visit.”

In a standing room only Council Chamber, Chairman Emmerson specifically acknowledged the Council members of the 2018 to 2022 term.

Chairman Emmerson has served as York Region Chairman and CEO since 2014. Highlights of the 2014 to 2018 term include:

In York Region, members of York Regional Council are elected in what is known as a “double direct” form of election. In this type of system, those elected as Mayor or Regional Councillor for an area municipality earn a seat on both Local and Regional Councils for four years.

The next meeting of York Regional Council will take place on Thursday, December 13 at 9:00 a.m. in the Council Chambers of the York Region Administrative Centre. Listen live at

For more information on York Regional Council, please visit

Chairman Emmerson’s full biography and a copy of his Inaugural address are available at

High-resolution photos are available on Flickr.

The Regional Municipality of York consists of nine local cities and towns and provides a variety of programs and services to 1.2 million residents and 51,000 businesses with 620,000 employees. More information about the Region’s key service areas is available at


Media Contact

Patrick Casey, Corporate Communications, The Regional Municipality of York
Phone: 1-877-464-9675 ext. 71235 or Cell: 905-715-8211 Email:

Wayne,Emmerson,Re-elected The Regional Municipality of York en-US Media Release