The Regional Municipality Of York

ALERT: In response to the COVID-19 situation, York Region has declared a State of Emergency  |  Get the latest on our response to COVID-19  |  Information on re-opening and resuming business during COVID-19


York Region celebrates friendship every day

International Day of Friendship 2018 is celebrated on Monday, July 30, 2018

Image of loveyr bracelet on a blue backgroundNewmarket – On Monday, July 30, 2018 The Regional Municipality of York will celebrate the International Day of Friendship, a day created by the United Nations (UN) that focuses on the role friendship plays in promoting peace in many cultures. The idea is friendship between peoples, countries, cultures and individuals can inspire peace efforts and build bridges between communities.

At York Region, we are proud of the relationships we hold with our nine local cities and towns. We understand the value our friendship plays in delivering our core services and programs. In recognition of the International Day of Friendship, York Region has created a friendship bracelet that can be worn as a symbol of our friendship.

Look for the bracelet in your community or pick one up at a York Region community booth. Residents are encouraged to find the bracelet display in their community and snap a photo wearing it using the #loveyr to champion the story on social

Let’s celebrate being a collection of individuals and places who choose each day to grow together.

York Region is a two-tier municipality. This means the upper-tier municipality (The Regional Municipality of York) delivers specific services for the lower-tier municipalities. York Region’s lower-tier municipalities and friends include Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville. Friendship is all about helping each other and trusting one another. Use the diagram below to understand who to call for what service.

Friendship is all about helping each other and trusting one another. Delivering programs and services is a shared responsibility among all of our friends at our local cities and towns.

The Regional Municipality of York consists of nine local cities and towns and provides a variety of programs and services to 1.2 million residents and 51,000 businesses with 620,000 employees. More information about the Region’s key service areas is available at

celebrate,friend,bracelet,loveyr,proud,relationships,symbol,friendship The Regional Municipality of York en-US Media Release