The Regional Municipality Of York

ALERT: In response to the COVID-19 situation, York Region has declared a State of Emergency  |  Get the latest on our response to COVID-19  |  Information on temporary service disruptions and facility closures


York Region to pilot automated speed enforcement in 12 school areas

Two-year automated speed enforcement set to begin May 2020

Newmarket – York Regional Council approved the launch of a two-year automated speed enforcement pilot, which will include using a camera and speed measurement device to enforce speed limits in 12 community safety zones as early as May, 2020.

"This is another tool we can use to increase safety, protecting some of the most vulnerable people on our roads – our students walking to and from school,” said York Region Chairman and CEO Wayne Emmerson. “Speed limits are set for a reason, and when people exceed speed limits, especially in community safety zones, they put everyone at risk.”

Municipal Speed Camera sign

The pilot will include rotating one mobile automated speed enforcement unit between 12 community safety zones during the two-year pilot. Automated speed enforcement signs will be installed on Regional roads 90 days in advance of activating a camera to inform motorists of the upcoming change.

“More than 90% of pedestrians involved in a vehicle collision result in injuries or fatalities,” said Township of King Mayor Steve Pellegrini, Chair of the Region’s Transportation Services. “This technology will help reinforce the message that motorists need to slow down.”

The automated speed enforcement locations, identified as the highest potential risk for school children, were selected by reviewing traffic volume, school population and travel speed. The mobile unit will rotate monthly among 12 community safety zones covering 19 schools.

Regional staff will review data from the pilot, including change in driver behaviour, review of technology and the impact on courts, with a report to Regional Council in 2020. For more information on road safety programs, visit

The Regional Municipality of York consists of nine local cities and towns and provides a variety of programs and services to 1.2 million residents and 52,000 businesses with 636,000 employees. More information about the Region’s key service areas is available at


Media Contact:
Tamara Ostrowski, Corporate Communications, The Regional Municipality of York
Phone: 1-877-464-9675, ext. 71226 Cell: 905-251-6412

York Region; speed enforcement The Regional Municipality of York en-US Media Release