The Regional Municipality Of York

ALERT: In response to the COVID-19 situation, York Region has declared a State of Emergency  |  Get the latest on our response to COVID-19  |  Information on re-opening and resuming business during COVID-19


York Region Transit service changes take effect September 2, 2018

Newmarket – York Region Transit (YRT) service changes will begin Sunday, September 2. These changes will result in some service enhancements and improved connections, as well as reinstating all High School Special routes.

Highlights of route changes include: 

  • Routes 201, 202 and 203 schedules will be adjusted to improve GO Transit connections
  • With the start of the 2018/2019 academic year, all 400-series School Special routes will be reinstated on Tuesday, September 4, with the exception of the following routes that will begin on Monday, August 27: 
    • 424 - Keswick High School Special
    • 462 - Maple High School Special

As part of the service changes, beginning September 2, YRT will no longer directly service the York University Keele Street Campus. Instead, the routes listed below will be redirected to service the Pioneer Village Bus Terminal located on the north side of Steeles Avenue, east of Jane Street, in the City of Vaughan. Walking distance to the campus is approximately 200 metres: 

  1. Route 3 – Thornhill
  2. Route 20 – Jane
  3. Route 96 – Keele-Yonge
  4. Route 107/107B – Keele
  5. Route 165/165F – Weston

Rapid Transit

In addition, Viva purple, which currently services the campus directly, will now end at Richmond Hill Centre Terminal at Yonge Street and Highway 7.

Travellers wanting to continue west to York University will have to transfer onto Viva orange. Viva orange will then take them across Highway 7, in the rapidway, to Vaughan Metropolitan Centre, where they can transfer onto the subway for direct service into the campus.

Students travelling to York University on YRT who transfer onto the TTC Line 1 Subway will be required to pay both the YRT and TTC fare to complete their trip.

YRT is obligated to make this change under a 2009 agreement between the Toronto Transit Commission (TTC) and York Region for the construction of the TTC Line 1 Subway Extension and recently formalized in an Operations and Maintenance Agreement between the two groups.

For additional information about these route changes, visit

For major service alerts, news, travel tips and other relevant transit information, please call 1-866-MOVE-YRT (668-3978), visit or follow YRT on social media. You can also check out, a website where you can view questions and answers about YRT or submit your own questions.

The Regional Municipality of York consists of nine local cities and towns and provides a variety of programs and services to 1.2 million residents and 51,000 businesses with 620,000 employees. More information about the Region’s key service areas is available at

Media Contact: 
Nancy La Neve, Corporate Communications, The Regional Municipality of York
Phone: 1-877-464-9675 ext. 71226 or Cell: 289-716-9605

service changes; York Region; York Region Transit; Transit; schedule; transit schedule; transit schedule changes The Regional Municipality of York en-US Media Release