The Regional Municipality Of York



York Regional Council has 21 members. Council sets policies, direction and budgets for York Region.

Members of York Regional Council are elected in what is known as a "double direct" form of election. In this type of system, those elected as Mayor or Regional Councillor for a local municipality earn a seat on both Local Council and Regional Council for four years.

The Chair of Regional Council is elected by members of Regional Council at the first meeting of the term and also serves for a four year term.

Most of Council's work is done through the Committee of the Whole. During Committee of the Whole meetings, members get public input, review policies and consider staff reports before making recommendations to Regional Council.

Council usually meets on the third Thursday of each month at 9 a.m. For the official Council and Committee meeting dates please see the Events Calendar

York Regional Council Members

Council Members for the Term 2018-2022

Wayne Emmerson
York Region Chairman and CEO


Tom Mrakas, Mayor

East Gwillimbury

Virginia Hackson, Mayor


Margaret Quirk, Mayor
Robert Grossi, Regional Councillor


Steve Pellegrini, Mayor


Frank Scarpitti, Mayor
Don Hamilton, Regional Councillor
Jack Heath, Regional Councillor
Joe Li, Regional Councillor
Jim Jones, Regional Councillor


John Taylor, Mayor
Tom Vegh, Regional Councillor

Richmond Hill

David Barrow, Mayor
Joe DiPaola, Regional Councillor
Carmine Perrelli, Regional Councillor


Maurizio Bevilacqua, Mayor
Mario Ferri, Regional Councillor
Gino Rosati, Regional Councillor
Linda Jackson, Regional Councillor


Iain Lovatt, Mayor

Alternate Members of Council (appointed by local municipalities)

A local municipal council may appoint one of its members as an alternate to temporarily act in place of a Regional Council member when that member is unable to attend a Regional Council meeting. There can only be one alternate member appointed per municipality, and the appointment is for the term of Council.

Alternate Regional Council members appointed by local municipalities for the 2018 to 2022 term are:

Bill Cober, Councillor, Township of King
Greg Beros, Councillor, City of Richmond Hill
Ken Ferdinands, Councillor, Town of Whitchurch-Stouffville

This list will be updated if, and when, additional alternate members are appointed.

Related Items

2018 Municipal Election Accessibility Plan

Council,council members,regional council,CEO,chairman,election,council term The Regional Municipality of York en-US Image of chairs in council chambers. Council The York Regional Council has 21 members. They set policies, directions and budgets for York Region.

Events Calendar

  • More events