The Regional Municipality Of York


Regional Services

York Region is a two tier municipality. This means that the upper-tier municipality (The Regional Municipality of York) delivers specific services for the lower-tier municipalities. York Region’s lower-tier municipalities include Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan, and Whitchurch-Stouffville.

York Region’s upper-tier municipal structure was created to provide high-level services throughout all municipalities, resulting in cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our lower-tier municipalities and residents.

Regional services we provide include

Add a splash of colour to York Region’s services by downloading the Regional Services Activity Book.

Who Do I Call

Our Who Do I Call information sheet outlines services offered by your local town or city. Please visit the Local Municipalities page for more information on your lower tier municipality.



Services,What we do,Responsibilities,Municipalities,Structure,About York Region,local municipalities,Aurora,East Gwillimbury,Georgina,King,Markham,Newmarket,Richmond Hill,Vaughan,Whitchurch-Stouffville The Regional Municipality of York en-US Regional Services Regional Services The Regional Municipality of York is part of a two-tier government structure, delivering 14 key Regional services to its residents and businesses.

Events Calendar

  • More events